If you don’t want to be friends with someone on Snapchat, you can easily block them on social media. Before you use the block functionality, you should know the consequences of blocking someone on Snapchat.
You must be wondering, can the blocked contact view your profile? Can they glance through your stories? What about old messages? Allow us to answer all questions and clear confusion for you.
Can You Block Anyone on Snapchat
Yes, you can block anyone on Snapchat. They don’t have to be on your contact list. As for this post, we are going with an assumption that the person is present on your Friends list.
First, let us show you how to block someone on Snapchat and then discuss its implications.
Block Someone on Snapchat
Follow the steps below to block someone on Snapchat.
Step 1: Open Snapchat on your phone.
Step 2: Tap on the profile picture at the top.
Step 3: Scroll down to My Friends list.
Step 4: Select a friend that you want to block.
Step 5: It will open the chat screen. Tap on the profile picture at the top.
Step 6: Select the three-dot menu and tap Manage Friendship.
Step 7: Hit Block and you have successfully blocked the contact.
Now that you have successfully blocked contact on Snapchat, here are the limitations that the service will impose on the blocked contact.
You Won’t Receive Snaps from Them
Blocked contacts can still send you messages from the Chat menu. However, you won’t receive them.
The messages remain unread on the chat screen. This is how the blocked function works in WhatsApp as well.
If the blocked person tries to send a snap, it will be labeled as delivered on their side. Don’t worry. You won’t be notified about the sent snap. With the current practice, Snapchat won’t let the blocked person know that they have been blocked from your side.
Blocked Contacts Can Still View Your Sent Snaps
Blocked contacts can still view unopened snaps from Snapchat. Blocking the contact won’t undo the sent snaps if you accidentally send a wrong snap.
You must wait for 24 hours to let the snap expire from Snapchat servers. If you are blocking someone on Snapchat to retract the sent snap, don’t do it as it won’t help.
Sent Messages Remain Unread
Maybe you have changed your mind about blocking someone on Snapchat and now you want to unblock them.
When you unblock a contact, you won’t receive any messages that the blocked contact sent you while being blocked.
The same scenario applies to snaps as well. If a contact tried to send a snap while he/she was blocked, unblocking them won’t make the snap appear in the chat menu.
Will the Other Person Get Notified When You Block Them on Snapchat
Snapchat doesn’t notify or give any indication to let others know about the blocked status. After all, it’s a privacy feature, and Snapchat would want to protect the blocker here.
As we mentioned above, all the normal messages and snaps get sent normally so that the other person doesn’t get to know that you have blocked them.
Do You Remain Friends When You Unblock a Friend on Snapchat
The answer is no. When you block someone on Snapchat, the service will automatically unfriend the person from your list.
When you unblock the same person, you must add he/she to your friends’ list again.
What About Old Saved Messages
Once you unblock someone on Snapchat and add them to your friends’ list, you can view all the old saved messages as before.
Will You Remain in Blocked Person’s Friend List
Yes. Snapchat will remove the person from your friends list, but you shall remain on the blocked person’s friends list.
Even though you are on their friends’ list, they won’t be able to send a message or snap to you.
Will You Get Screenshot Notifications
No, you won’t get any screenshot notifications from blocked contacts. The blocked person will be able to see a screenshot notification on their side, but you won’t be notified about that.
Chat Will Be Deleted
Be cautious while using the block function on Snapchat. The service will delete the entire chat history with the person. On the flip side, the chat remains on the blocked person’s side.
Remove Spam on Spanchat
With its unique take on the messaging experience, Snapchat remains a favorite among the youth. However, you might be miffed by some for sending too many messages or snaps. Go ahead, use the tricks above and block them. Keep the FAQ in mind to learn how the block or unblock function works in Snapchat.
Last updated on 04 February, 2022
The above article may contain affiliate links which help support Guiding Tech. However, it does not affect our editorial integrity. The content remains unbiased and authentic.