What Hap­pens When You Block Some­one on Gmail

Olanrewaju Sodiq

Is someone bugging you with unsolicited emails? Or perhaps, some company is spamming your inbox with promotional and marketing emails? Gmail lets you control and filter the kind of emails you receive in your inbox by blocking email addresses. But what happens after you block someone on Gmail? Read on to find out.

What happens when you block someone on gmail image 02

Will you still be able to receive emails from blocked addresses? Can you still email someone you have blocked? How do yo unblock some in your Gmail? How do you even block someone on Gmail to start with? We answer everything in this explainer. Let's get to it.

How to Block Someone on Gmail

Blocking someone or an email address on Gmail is quite easy. Follow the steps listed below to get it done on the Gmail mobile app and the web/PC interface.

On Mobile

Step 1: Locate and open the email the person you want to block sent you.

Step 2: Tap the three-dotted menu icon next to the name of the sender.

What happens when you block someone on gmail 06

Step 3: Finally, on the pop-up menu at the bottom of the screen, select ‘Block [Sender’s name]’ option.

What happens when you block someone on gmail 07
What happens when you block someone on gmail 08

On Web/PC

The Gmail block process is quite similar for mobile and web. Open the mail the sender/email address sent you, tap the menu icon and select 'Block [Sender's Name]' option.

What happens when you block someone on gmail 01

Can a Block Person Send You Emails

Yes, a blocked address can still send you emails. The only difference is that emails from block addresses will not appear in your inbox. Rather, they are housed in the Spam folder of your Gmail automatically.

Can You Email a Blocked Address

Yes, you can. The bunch of what the Gmail block feature does is to move (new) mails from a blocked address to the Spam folder from the moment you block them henceforward.

If you want to, you can still send them emails and communicate normally like you would with a regular, unblocked address. Your conversations will be restricted to the Gmail spam folder.

What Happens to Old Emails From the Person You Blocked

Nothing. Nada. Old and previous emails you’ve exchanged with the blocked contact will remain in your inbox unless you delete them. However, new responses to old email conversations from the blocked contact will no longer appear in the inbox as a thread.

What happens when you block someone on gmail 09

Interestingly, when you receive new emails from a block contact in the spam folder, you can choose to move them to your regular inbox by tapping the ‘Move to Inbox’ button when you open the mail.

Will the Person Know You’ve Blocked Them

No, the person you blocked on Gmail will not be notified (by Google or anyone else) of your action. Even better, there’s no surefire way for blocked contacts to confirm that they’ve been blocked on Gmail. Except, of course, you tell them.

Blocking someone on Gmail is more of a silent block. That is very much different from how the block action works on other apps. On WhatsApp, for example, a blocked contact cannot send you messages, view your profile picture, see your online/last seen status, etc.

Does Blocking Someone in Gmail Also Block the Person on Other Google Services

What happens when you block someone on gmail image

No. Although you only need one Google account to access the majority of Google’s services, Google treats each of its services as different entities. As such, whatever happens in Gmail, stays in Gmail.

So when you block someone on Gmail, the action is restricted to Gmail, and the person might be able to reach you directly on another Google product (say Google Hangouts) using the same address.

Where Are the People You Blocked on Gmail

For some reason, knowing who you have blocked on Gmail or any other messaging platform is important. When you block someone on Instagram, for example, you can see them in the Privacy section of the instant messaging app. Gmail only lets you see blocked addresses/people on the web/PC interface. You cannot view blocked contacts in the Gmail app.

Here’s how to view block addresses on the Gmail web interface.

Step 1: Launch Gmail in your favorite browser and the gear icon.

What happens when you block someone on gmail 02

Step 2: Next, select Settings.

What happens when you block someone on gmail 03

Step 3: Select the ’Filters and Blocked Addresses’ tab.

What happens when you block someone on gmail 04

Step 4: You should now see a list of email addresses you’ve blocked on Gmail.

What happens when you block someone on gmail 05

Unblocking Someone on Gmail

This is also just as easy as blocking an address. On PC, follow the steps (#1 — #3) above and tap the Unblock button.

What happens when you block someone on gmail 11

On mobile, open any email from the blocked address and tap the Unblock sender button.

What happens when you block someone on gmail 10

Block Them Out

The Gmail block feature helps you get rid of unwanted emails or people from your regular inbox. Unlike other popular messaging platforms, blocking someone on Gmail still leaves room for communication. The questions answered in the section above are all you need to know to block someone on Gmail. Let us know in the comments below if you have any queries.

Next up: Did you lose your Gmail emails? Check out some ways to recover lost Gmail emails and prepare for future calamities in the guide linked below.


The above article may contain affiliate links which help support Guiding Tech. However, it does not affect our editorial integrity. The content remains unbiased and authentic.

Read Next
How to Recover Deleted Emails in Gmail
Also See
#gmail #gtexplains

Join the newsletter

Sodiq has written thousands of tutorials, guides, and explainers over the past 3 years to help people solve problems relating to Android, iOS, and Windows devices. He also enjoys reviewing consumer tech products (smartphones, smart home devices, etc.) and previously worked with GearBest in that capacity.