Without a doubt, WhatsApp is the holy grail of instant messaging apps. But unfortunately, it has also become a key source of brand marketing, promotions, spam, and useless forwarded messages. Thankfully, you can either mute such messages or completely block someone on WhatsApp.
But what happens when you block someone on WhatsApp? Can the blocked person call you? Can they view your profile picture? In this in-depth article, we will delve into the intricacies of blocking on WhatsApp, addressing key questions and shedding light on the nuances of this action.
How to Block Someone on WhatsApp
Before we dig deep into what happens after you block someone, let’s first explore how to block a known or unknown number on WhatsApp.
Simply open WhatsApp → chat → tap the contact’s name/number from the top of the chat window → scroll down and select Block name or number.
Now, there is a slight difference between blocking a regular or business account on WhatsApp. For a non-business user, simply tap Block. While to block a business account on WhatsApp, select an appropriate reason and then tap Block.
If you want to block a group, repeat the same steps. Tap the group’s name from the top → scroll down and select Block group name.
What Happens When You Block Someone on WhatsApp
A series of changes occur when you block someone on WhatsApp, which affects both you and the blocked person.
When You Block Someone on Whatsapp What Do They See
While we’re going to break down each one in detail, here’s a brief version.
|Features||Can a blocked person||Can you|
|Call each other||No||No|
|Participate in a common group||Yes||Yes|
|Check Last Seen||No||No|
|View Online Status||No||No|
|See Status update||No||Yes|
|Receive Read receipt||No||No|
|View Profile picture changes||No||Yes|
If You Block Someone on Whatsapp Will They Know
No, whether you report someone on WhatsApp or block them, the platform does not notify them. Although, the blocked person can find out if they are blocked on WhatsApp by observing that they can no longer call, message, or see your updates.
The same goes for unlocking someone. So, if you block and then unblock someone on WhatsApp, the user will not be notified of either action.
Can a Blocked Contact Message or Call Me
No. However, to keep things private, WhatsApp doesn’t make it apparent that one has been blocked. So while the blocked person can send you a message, the messages won’t be delivered to you.
Moreover, any messages sent to you will always show one check mark (message sent) and never show a second check mark (message delivered). Similarly, if the blocked person tries to call your WhatsApp number, they will hear the call ringing, but WhatsApp won’t notify you about it.
In a nutshell, the blocked contact can message or call you, but it won’t be delivered to your device and you’ll not receive any notification about it either.
Can You Message Someone You’ve Blocked on Whatsapp
No. While you can see the keyboard and type in the message, you can’t send it. WhatsApp will ask you to unblock the contact/number before you can send them a message.
If You Block Someone on WhatsApp Can They See Old Messages
Blocking someone on WhatsApp does not delete messages or existing media. Both you and the blocked person can view the old messages. Moreover, blocking someone does not affect the media files shared and saved on your phone, unless they are deleted manually.
Although if you block and report someone, WhatsApp will delete all existing chats.
If I Block Someone on WhatsApp Can I See Their Online Status, Last Seen, or Profile Picture
No, when you block someone, they cannot see when you are online. The status area under your name in the chat thread will appear blank. Furthermore, blocking someone scraps off the ability to view the last seen too.
Both you and the blocked contact will not be able to see each other’s last seen. That works irrespective of the fact whether you have hidden the last seen from your contacts or not.
The same goes for Profile Picture, a blocked contact won’t be able to see your profile picture, instead, they will see the default WhatsApp profile picture. However, you will still be able to see the blocked person’s current and future profile picture updates unless they also block you.
If I Block Someone Can I See Their Whatsapp Status
While WhatsApp offers privacy settings separately for ephemeral status aka stories, blocking someone will hide your stories from them and their stories from your list. However, their About will still be visible to you, you can see any changes made to it.
Do You See a Blocked Contact Message in Groups
Interestingly, your conversations in WhatsApp group chats remain unaffected when you block one of the group members. Meaning, both of you will be able to see messages from each other in your common groups. However, you may not receive notifications when they send messages or share media.
Does Blocking Someone Removes Them From the Contact List
No, blocking someone on WhatsApp does not remove them from your contact list. If you wish to delete a blocked contact from your list, you need to manually remove their number from your device’s contacts.
What Happens When You Block a Group
Blocking a group works in similar ways to blocking a contact. It prevents you from receiving messages, calls, and notifications from that group. Although, the group members won’t be notified that you’ve blocked the group.
What Happens When You Unblock Someone
When you unblock someone on WhatsApp, the previous changes are reversed. However, the messages sent during the time they were blocked will not be delivered retroactively. You will only see new messages.
Blocking vs. Removing vs. Muting
In the realm of WhatsApp, users have several options to manage their interactions and control the flow of messages and notifications.
- Blocking a contact is a stringent measure that restricts all forms of communication between you and the blocked contact.
- Removing a contact from your device doesn’t stop or disrupt the WhatsApp communication link. They can still, message or call you on WhatsApp. Although depending on your privacy settings, they may not see your profile photo, status, and stories.
- Muting a contact or group on WhatsApp allows you to temporarily silence notifications from them without cutting off communication entirely.
How to View a Blocked List on Whatsapp and Unblock a Contact
To check out all the Blocked contacts on Whatsapp,
- On iPhone, go to Settings → Privacy → Blocked contacts.
- On an Android phone, tap the three-dot icon at the top-right corner of WhatsApp. Navigate to Settings → Account → Privacy → Blocked contacts.
Here, if you wish to unblock a contact or a number, select the contact → scroll, and tap Unblock contact.
Alternatively, on an iPhone, you can tap Edit from the top-right corner and tap – next to the contact /number or swipe left the contact or number and tap Unblock.
Note: You can also block on WhatsApp from here, scroll down the list → tap Add New, and select the contact.
Block Someone on WhatsApp and Stop Them From Disturbing You
The feature to block someone on WhatsApp has a significant impact on the interactions between you and the blocked person. It lends you control over who can reach out to you and see your activity on the platform.
So, before you use the power of blocking on WhatsApp, it is wiser to understand its consequences. Hope, this article helps you make an informed decision, do share your thoughts, questions, or queries, with us in the comment section.
Last updated on 09 August, 2023
The above article may contain affiliate links which help support Guiding Tech. However, it does not affect our editorial integrity. The content remains unbiased and authentic.