What Hap­pens When You Clear Cache of Tik­Tok App

Gaurav Bidasaria

Most mobile applications build up cache and data over time. Those items are stored on your phone's internal memory to load the app's interface faster. The same is true for TikTok, where the more you use the app, the more data it stores on your phone. The question then becomes whether you should clear TikTok cache after hours and days of watching videos. Also, what happens when you purge the TikTok app's cache?

What Happens When You Clear Your Cache on Tik Tok

We recommend that you clear cache and data of the app regularly as they could consume sizeable storage space and possibly hamper the app performance. You will learn how to clear TikTok cache on Android and iOS phones, why you should care, and what to expect once you do it.

Let's begin.

TikTok Cache Files

All apps store cache files on the phone so that whenever you open that app, it feels as fast as it was the first time you used it. Instead of downloading everything from the web every time you use it, apps like TikTok dig into the cache files stored on your smartphone to perform basic, repeated functions quickly and easily.

Doing so has other merits. It consumes less mobile data since TikTok has to download only specific type of data (new content updates) instead of everything. What kind of data is stored by TikTok?

What Happens When You Clear Your Cache on Tik Tok 8

The TikTok app stores your TikTok profile details, app settings, details about videos you watched/uploaded to the platform, viewing history, filters, effects, liked videos, and so on. That said, TikTok is not saving the video itself but certain details about the video.

Clearing cache files can improve performance, increase storage, and solve common errors that most users face while using an app.

The caching process takes place in the background and you don't even notice the difference. That's unless you delete the TikTok cache and open the app again.

What Happens When You Clear TikTok Cache

You will begin from scratch, that means you may have to sign in again. Purging cache removes your login details and your profile. When you sign in to TikTok again, the app downloads a fresh copy of cache. That will take some time, a few moments, and you should see your profile again.

What Happens When You Clear Your Cache on Tik Tok 7

That said, TikTok won't delete the videos that you uploaded or liked. Neither will it delete your comments or comments that people left on your videos. All your data including profile details and history are safe. That information rests on TikTok's servers. Everything is in the cloud and the app downloads parts of it back to your smartphone again to speed up content delivery and improve performance.

Cache footprint will be really small in the beginning and will continue to build up over time, just like last time before you cleared it.

How to Clear TikTok Cache on Android

Step 1: Open phone Settings and find TikTok under Manage apps or wherever apps are listed on your phone. It will depend on the make and model of your smartphone. Open it.

What Happens When You Clear Your Cache on Tik Tok 4
What Happens When You Clear Your Cache on Tik Tok 5

Step 2: Tap on Clear data at the bottom of the screen to select Clear cache and Clear all data.

What Happens When You Clear Your Cache on Tik Tok 6

I tried it and the app asked me to sign in to my account, as you will notice in the screenshots below.

You can clear the TikTok app cache from the official app itself, which gives you more control.

Step 1: Launch the app and tap on Me tab at the bottom of the screen to select the three-dot menu icon. That will launch Settings. Tap on Free up space.

What Happens When You Clear Your Cache on Tik Tok 1
What Happens When You Clear Your Cache on Tik Tok 2

Step 2: You can clear Cache and Downloads. As the app notes, Downloads includes filters, stickers, effects, and other data. You can choose which data to delete, unlike the Android Settings options, where everything is deleted.

What Happens When You Clear Your Cache on Tik Tok 3

How to Clear TikTok Cache on iOS

iOS is known for many things, and being flexible and open is not one of them. You can't delete TikTok or any other app's cache and data from iOS settings. It's a good thing the TikTok app offers this option.

Open the app and repeat the same process as you did above for Android to clear TikTok cache on your iPhone or iPad. No change there.

Memory Dump

TikTok has taken the world by storm, but it's not all sunshine and rainbows. Like all social media apps, it suffers from privacy and security issues and has its fair share of scandals and scams. But that doesn't mean there is nothing good about it. There are plenty of cool accounts that teach you new stuff and keep you entertained.

The more you use the app, the more it will consume storage space and slow down your phone and TikTok app itself. It is a good idea to clear cache files and data from time to time. You are not going to lose your profile or associated data, but doing so will only improve your user experience. That's what you want. A better experience while using your favorite app.

If you know any other TikTok tips and tricks, share them in the comments section below.

Next up: Worried about the privacy and security of your data on TikTok? You should be. Here are a few privacy and security tips for TikTok users that you should check out right now.


The above article may contain affiliate links which help support Guiding Tech. However, it does not affect our editorial integrity. The content remains unbiased and authentic.

Read Next
Top 4 TikTok Privacy and Security Settings for Users
Also See
#data cleaning #gtexplains

Join the newsletter

A C.A. by profession and a tech enthusiast by passion, Gaurav loves tinkering with new tech and gadgets. He used to build WordPress websites but gave it all up to develop little iOS games instead. Finally, he dropped out of college in the final year. He has over 5 years of experience as a writer covering Android, iOS, and Windows platforms and writes how-to guides, comparisons, listicles, and explainers for B2B and B2C apps and services. He currently divides his time between Guiding Tech and Tech Wiser.