When one thinks of uninstalling an app like Instagram from our phone, it sends down a shiver down our spine. The dark thoughts of losing followers, posts, messages, etc. don’t let us uninstall the app. But is uninstalling the Instagram app that bad? Find out the answer in this post where we get to know what happens when you uninstall Instagram from Android or iPhone.
Uninstalling the Instagram app is one of the best ways for troubleshooting issues in it. But many Instagram users are apprehensive about uninstalling the app. We present this post to help you make the right decision about whether you should uninstall the app or not.
You will get to know the aftereffects of uninstalling Instagram from your phone. Let's start.
Does Deleting the Instagram App Delete Your Account
No. Uninstalling or deleting the app will not permanently delete your account. It will merely remove the app from your phone.
Can People Still See Your Instagram Profile
Yes. Your profile is still available on Instagram. People can search for it and view it.
What Happens to Published Posts and Stories
Nothing. The posts will continue to stay on your profile. If you have a private account, only your followers will be able to see them. But, if you have a public account, anyone can see them. Similarly, if you recently published a story, it will stay for 24 hours and then vanish like a normal story.
What Happens to Drafts
Your drafts will be deleted when you uninstall the Instagram app. You should either publish them before uninstalling the app or save them on your phone.
Also on Guiding Tech
Can People Still Follow or Unfollow You
Yes. Since your Instagram profile exists for everyone else, people can follow or unfollow you.
Nope. Uninstalling the app doesn’t affect your followers list on Instagram. You will not lose any follower by uninstalling the app, unless the followers decide to unfollow themselves.
What Happens to Archive and Highlights
Anything that you archive on Instagram is linked to your account. So, unless you delete your Instagram account, your archived posts and stories are safe. When you reinstall the app, you will be able to access your archived data. Similarly, uninstalling the Instagram app will not alter highlights. They will stay on your profile.
Will Saved Posts Get Deleted
The saved posts are the collections that we create for future use. What would be their benefit if you couldn’t access them on other devices? So, fortunately, the saved posts aren’t deleted by uninstalling the app. You can still keep a check on those beautiful dresses that you added to your saved posts once you reinstall the app.
Also on Guiding Tech
What Happens to New and Old Messages
We are glad to say that nothing will happen to your messages. Your past messages will continue to remain in your Instagram's Inbox. And, people can also message you, but you won’t be notified about it. Only when you install the app again or log in from a different device, you will see the messages.
If a message goes missing after your reinstall the app, it’s not the aftereffect of uninstalling the app. The person might have pulled it back using the Unsend feature on Instagram. Check out similar cool tips related to Instagram messages.
No. The likes or comments that you have made on other profiles or the ones that were made on your profile will remain untouched when you uninstall the app.
What Happens to Notifications
As it is obvious, you will not receive notifications for any activity on your Instagram profile. You can say that one of the major aftereffects of uninstalling the app is not getting the notifications. If you reinstall the app, you will be shown all the missed notifications. In case you aren’t getting the notifications after reinstalling the app, find out how to fix the Instagram notification not working issue.
Will Your Friends Know When You Uninstall Instagram
Not really. If a person is close to you, they might notice that you aren’t active on Instagram. However, there isn’t a direct way to find out when someone uninstalls the app.