Is someone bothering you on Facebook or Messenger? Or are you done scrolling through the Facebook feed endlessly? Whatever the reason may be, we want to uninstall the Facebook app from our phone at some point.
But before taking that step, we want to be sure of its consequences. That’s where we are going to help you. Will uninstalling the app delete your friends or will you be removed from groups? We shall answer all such queries in this post and also tell you the repercussions of uninstalling Facebook or Messenger app from your phone.
Let’s start right away with the Facebook app followed by Messenger.
Will the Facebook Account Get Deleted
Not at all. Uninstalling Facebook app doesn’t delete the Facebook account.
Can People Still See Your Facebook Profile
Yes. Uninstalling the Facebook app from either Android or iPhone doesn’t remove your Facebook profile. So people can still view your Facebook profile.
Nothing. Facebook will not delete them. That’s because those are saved in the cloud storage to your account and not on your phone. If you reinstall Facebook or access it from the website, you will see those photos. Only if you delete them from Facebook explicitly, they will be removed.
What About Likes and Comments
Your old likes and comments will stay as it is and people can still interact via likes and comments with your existing posts. But you will not be notified about it on your mobile.
Are Pages and Groups Deleted
No. Facebook won't delete any page or group that you own. Similarly, it will not remove you from any group or page.
Also on Guiding Tech
Can You Still Login to Other Apps Via Facebook
Yes. If you use Facebook to sign into other apps and games such as Candy Crush, or other shopping apps, you can still do it. Earlier when you pressed the Login with Facebook button, you only had to authorize the app without entering your Facebook details. But now, since there is no Facebook app, you will have to enter your Facebook login details in such apps manually.
Will You Lose Your Friends List
Don’t worry! Your friends list isn’t going anywhere by uninstalling the Facebook app. All your friends will continue being your friends on Facebook. And you don’t have to add them back when you reinstall the app.
Can People Still Send You Friend Requests
Yes. You will still appear in Facebook search results, and people can add you on Facebook.
What Happens to Facebook Notifications
Since the app no longer exists on your phone, you will not be bothered by the notifications. However, if you check Facebook from its website on your phone or desktop, you will see all the notifications.
What Happens to Downloaded Media on Phone
Quite often we download images or videos from Facebook. Uninstalling the Facebook app will not delete those files from your phone.
Can You Use Facebook Messenger After Uninstalling Facebook App
If you delete the Facebook app, you can still use Messenger on the same or any other device. You don’t even have to install the Facebook app to use Messenger. It works without the Facebook app and account too.
Now we shall cover the aftereffects of uninstalling Facebook Messenger.
What Happens to Old Messages and Photos in Messenger
In case you are wondering, whether they will be deleted or not, the answer is no. Nothing happens to your old messages or photos on Messenger. You can access them by reinstalling the Messenger app or checking them on the desktop.
Can People Send You Messages
Uninstalling the Messenger app doesn’t make your profile invisible. You are available on Messenger, and people can still text you. However, since the app isn’t installed on your phone, you will not be notified about it. But reinstalling or using the desktop version will make them available to you.
No. You will continue being a member of groups on Messenger.
Will Downloaded Images or Videos Get Deleted
Messenger doesn’t automatically save media files on your phone. You have to press the Save button manually. When you uninstall the app, these files will not disappear from your phone.
What About Delivery Reports
A hollow grey circle with a check mark indicates that the message has been sent but not delivered. The filled circle means the message has been delivered. And, when the profile picture appears next to the message, it means the person has seen your message.
When you uninstall the Messenger app, people will see a hollow grey circle with a tick inside it only when they send you a message. That’s because the message isn’t delivered to you. Even when you use Facebook, the symbol will not change. Only when you open the message thread on the Facebook website, the symbol will change to delivered and eventually seen.
If You Delete Facebook or Messenger App, Will Your Friends Know
Not really. Only if they are stalking you desperately, they will get suspicious when the messages aren't getting delivered, or you aren’t active on Facebook. Even then, it’s not easy to know the exact reason for such behavior. There could be multiple other reasons.
What Happens If You Delete Facebook or Messenger App Data?
While uninstalling the apps doesn’t do any damage, clearing app data on Android will delete the downloaded media files for the respective app and log you out from the apps. Logging out from the app is equivalent to uninstalling it. So all the things mentioned above will remain true.
Also on Guiding Tech
Should You Uninstall the App
Lately, Facebook hasn’t been in the news for good reasons. If you are trying to stay away from Facebook or Messenger and deleting the account seems a bad choice, uninstalling will help. It has its benefits. First, nothing is deleted, and secondly, you can observe better control over your obsession of scrolling on Facebook.
Next up: Wondering what happens when you block someone on Facebook? Check our intriguing post to know more about it.
The above article may contain affiliate links which help support Guiding Tech. However, it does not affect our editorial integrity. The content remains unbiased and authentic.