How to Hide Someone on Facebook

Rahul Gupta

We all have that one friend, who with his or her social skills manages to be the eyesore of our Facebook timeline. The easy way out is to simply unfriend that person and move on but turns out it's not that easy. 

According to a study conducted by the Nottingham Trent University, people tend to avoid unfriending Facebook friends because they dread the consequences of that in their real lives. I personally do not unfriend such people. Instead, I choose to hide them and put their Facebook feed on mute


Hiding people from your timeline is the best solution if you ask me. It will save you a lot of trouble of going through meaningless posts and you do not need to unfriend them either. 

There are two main ways to hide a person from your timeline: 

  • Permanently unsubscribe from their posts.
  • Hide them temporarily. Useful if you are taking a short break from someone's updates. 

Let's first talk about the recently launched feature that allows you to mute or unfollow someone on Facebook for a limited time.

Here's how you do it. 

1. Steps to Snooze Someone's Facebook Feed for 30 Days

Snoozing updates puts a temporary pause on the updates from your Facebook contact. It can be really useful if you have some annoying friends who you know are going to be extra active for the next few days, be it an international vacation or something else.


The Snooze feature lets you hide someone's post for 30 days. If you want it for a shorter period then it can be started using the Snooze button, but, you will have to end it manually.

Step 1: The first step here is to go to your Facebook timeline and locate any post from someone you want to hide from your timeline. On that post find the downward arrow button located towards the right. Tap on that to proceed. 


Step 2: From the following pop-up, select the Snooze option. By selecting that you are choosing not to receive any update from that person for the next 30 days. 


Step 3: Once snoozed, the only way of seeing any feed from that person is by visiting their timeline. To again start receiving updates from them, visit their Facebook profile. On their profile you will see the Snoozed icon. Tap on that button to proceed. 


Step 4: A pop-up will show at the bottom of the screen. Here you can see the days remaining for any active snooze on that person's profile. To disable it, select the End Snooze option and feeds from that person will again start appearing on your timeline. 


Okay, that basically takes care of the people who are not spammy by nature but tend to post a lot of updates sporadically. However, there are some people who just can't do anything without posting an update on Facebook. For such people we have an even better solution. 

2. Steps to Hide Someone's Feed on Facebook Permanently

While this method is not new, it is fairly straightforward and immensely effective against annoying people. Once enabled, you will never receive an update from that person again on your Facebook timeline or even a notification on what is happening at their end.


So be careful as i personally feel that this method is only useful against people whose posts are extremely annoying. 

Here's how you do it. 

Step 1: The first thing to do is to locate the person whose feed or posts you want to hide from your Facebook timeline. Visit your friends list on Facebook and find the person. Once you've identified him or her, select the three-dot menu button right next to their profile. 


Step 2: A pop-up should come on your screen. From there, choose the Unfollow option. That's all you need to do to hide someone from your Facebook.


Step 3: There are times when you feel the need to again start receiving updates from a person you had blocked previously. To re-enable their feed, visit their profile page. There you will see the Follow button. Tap on that to proceed. 


Step 4: Another pop-up will appear on the screen. There, the Default option will be highlighted. Proceed to tap on it if you are okay with the option. If you want to receive their updates before everybody else, go with the See First option.


A Snooze-y New Feature

Facebook is the most popular social network and for apparent reasons. Their foresight keeps them ahead of the curve and the new Snooze feature is a great example. While the option to permanently unfollow someone was already there, the addition of a temporary snooze really makes sense.


It's just like taking a break from something or someone and there is nothing bad about it. While you can forget after hiding someone permanently, Facebook will send you a notification when the snooze duration is about to end. You can choose to increase the duration or end it, the choice is yours. 

Rahul Gupta

Written By

Rahul Gupta

Rahul Gupta is the Editor at Guiding Tech and has been closely following Personal Technology for over a decade where he has worked with some of the top publications in India. A true techie at heart, he loves to write and share his insights about new technology and how it affects the common man. When not writing or talking about technology, Rahul loves to spend time with his motorbikes or brewing a nice cup of coffee.