Sometimes, when users receive a notification that their friends shared an update on Facebook and clicked on the link to view it, they are instead greeted with a message that says – Content is not available right now. That can be frustrating.
Let’s take a look at some solutions that will solve this error so you can view soap cutting video and relax on your bed, or is it the office?
1. You Are Blocked
Many users shared with us that the error appears when a user blocks you. Let me clear the air. If you are blocked, you will not even see his/her profile, let alone status updates. So there is no way you are viewing this error because the user has blocked you.
I wanted to clear this point because the feeling of getting blocked by someone can create unwanted ripples in a relationship. If you see the ‘content is not available’ error, you are not blocked. You can check this by visiting the user’s profile. Simple.
2. You Are Logged Out
While this usually doesn’t happen because it is in the interest of Facebook if you spend more time on their platform, sometimes, you may get logged out of Facebook involuntarily. To check, simply refresh the page and see if the login screen pops up.
I would recommend you to log out and sign back in before checking whether you can view the content or not.
3. Facebook Is Down
By down, I don’t mean that the whole site is down because in that case, you wouldn’t even see the error as the site won’t be loading at all. There is a handy service called Down Detector that finds and reports site related issues.
Facebook has suffered numerous blackouts, newsfeeds, and sign in errors in the past, among others. Maybe, the issue is on their side? Check Down Detector to make sure that everything is running on their end as intended.
4. Content Was Deleted
Maybe there is a simple explanation behind this error. Sometimes, people share embarrassing images or videos of themselves on Facebook or post a status that they feel isn’t right. After realizing the blunder, they quickly delete the content to stop further damage.
Maybe, by the time you saw the notification and clicked on it, the content was deleted? It is also possible that Facebook removed the content because it violated the social network’s content policy. Maybe another user reported the content to Facebook? In that case, you would see an error notifying you that the content is no longer available on Facebook. Buddy, you’ve got to let it go. On second thought, if you know the person, ask him/her what happened?
5. Profile No Longer Exists
It sounds a bit harsh, but Facebook removes user profiles daily. There can be many reasons behind this. The user, himself/herself, deactivated the profile. The user was banned for posting content that was questionable or unsuitable or violated Facebook’s policy.
In either case, the post would be unavailable when you click on the link.
6. Removed by Facebook
Facebook offers a way to report content that you deem unfit, and in that case, you can report it using the menu icon. You will notice there are many options available such as spam, nudity, violence, hate speech, and so on.
Once the content is flagged, the Facebook content violation team will have a look and make a call. It is possible that Facebook removed the content after it was reported for being inappropriate by someone.
7. Age and Location Restrictions
When someone creates a page on Facebook, there is a way to set age restrictions. Say the age is restricted to 21. In that case, anyone who is under the age of 21 and receives notification or clicks on a link to view the content will see the content not available message instead.
You can’t even like the Facebook page if you don’t meet the age criteria. Facebook notes that the like will be removed immediately. The same goes for location restrictions where people from specific countries won’t be able to view the content.
8. Privacy Settings
When you create a post on Facebook, there are privacy settings that you can use to make sure that the content is viewable by only those whom you allow. There are some options like a specific group of friends, all your friends except (include names here), or make it visible to only specific friends.
Facebook filters such content automatically, and even though you find a publicly shared link to the post, you won’t be able to view the content because you do not meet the privacy criteria set by the original poster.
In case of a Facebook page, the admin can set the page to private in which case, only followers who have been manually approved by the admin will be able to view the content while everyone else will get the error.
Face the Book Instead
Well, that means to spend more time reading books rather than following other people’s lives. If you are unable to view content, then either it is no longer available, or you don’t have the necessary permissions to view it. Sometimes, there are other factors at play, and you can try one of the solutions mentioned above.
Next up: Do you watch a lot of videos on Facebook? Would you like to extract audio from one? Click on the link below to learn how.
Last updated on 03 February, 2022
The above article may contain affiliate links which help support Guiding Tech. However, it does not affect our editorial integrity. The content remains unbiased and authentic.