How to Clear Facebook Search Suggestions on Android

Out of the estimated 7.6 billion people on earth, an astounding 2.07 billion are active on Facebook. No wonder why it is called the largest social network, globally. However, besides that, Facebook is a great way to meet new people and making friends, if you don't have many. 

All that is available at the push of a button, after you key in the desired name, of course. On an average Facebook sees as many as 2 billion searches every day, needless to say how Facebook uses that data, but your search history can reveal a lot about your Facebook habits, good or bad both. 

hands-1167617_1920

If you have ever paid attention to that little search widget on the Android app, you must have noticed that Facebook keeps a track of what you have searched and when. Yes, that's right, from the day you started your account till today, all your search history is there on your account. And you were wondering why all those nasty search suggestions keep popping up. 

It's annoying, I agree with you and God forbid if anyone has access to your account, they can also get pretty privy to what you have been doing on Facebook all this while. Therefore, one safe way of doing things is to delete your browsing history to clear Facebook search suggestions. Here's how you can do that in 4 easy steps. 

Clear Facebook Search Suggestions

Facebook-search1

Facebook's search widget is a very simple tool, it keeps a track of what all you have searched over the years and presents it as suggestion when you try to search for it again. Needless to say, the moment you clear this search history, the search suggestions automatically go away with it. Follow these steps to clear your search history. 

Step 1: Open the Facebook app on your phone and tap on the search bar. This will open up a new page where you'll see a number of search suggestions based on your past searches. Tap on the Edit button on the top-right corner of the page. 

Facebook-search-1
Facebook-search-2

Step 2:  Once you press the Edit button, it will reveal your search history. To delete your entire search history, tap on the Clear Searches button on the upper-left corner of the page. 

Facebook-search-3

Step 3: Once you've done that, the app will confirm with you before deleting your history. Tap on confirm to proceed. 

Facebook-search-4
Note: Once you've deleted your Facebook search history, there is no way to bring it back, so choose wisely. 

Step 4: Now your Facebook app will not offer you any search suggestions and to check that you can take a look at the entire search history and can also tap on the search bar to reconfirm. 

Facebook-search-5
Facebook-search-6

Does Facebook Track Your Location?

facebook-1903445_1920

Contrary to popular belief, Facebook does not track your location, at least when it comes to suggesting Friends or while giving you search suggestions. Therefore, you should not be worried that your app is spying on you. 

However, Facebook app does access your location data, especially when it comes to check-ins. Also, Facebook messenger which is the second most widely used app for communication after WhatsApp has access to your personal data which is available on Facebook and on your phonebook. It sees who you are connected to in real life and suggests you should be friends with in the virtual world as well. 


Rahul Gupta

Written By

Rahul Gupta

Rahul Gupta is the Editor at Guiding Tech and has been closely following Personal Technology for over a decade where he has worked with some of the top publications in India. A true techie at heart, he loves to write and share his insights about new technology and how it affects the common man. When not writing or talking about technology, Rahul loves to spend time with his motorbikes or brewing a nice cup of coffee.

More ArticlesTwitterFacebook