What Hap­pens When You Sign Out of Your Net­flix Account From All Devices

Olanrewaju Sodiq

How often have you seen the vexing "Too many people are using your account right now" error message when you open Netflix? That message appears when several (more than your plan supports) devices are streaming Netflix content simultaneously. At that point, you may have thought of revoking other people's access to your Netflix account. No sane person would do that to invite trouble from family and friends. But what happens if all those devices sign out of Netflix?

What happens when you sign out of your netflix account from all devices featured image

We shall answer such queries (and more) you might have about signing devices out of your Netflix account. We'll also show you how to know who's using your account, where they're using it from, and what to do after signing out all devices connected to your Netflix account.

Note: We used a computer for this tutorial, but the methods listed herein can also be executed on a mobile browser.

How to Know Who Is Using Your Netflix Account

Netflix won't exactly tell you who's using your account by their first or last name. Rather, it shows you the name of the devices and other data that can help you identify the persons using your account.

Step 1: Sign in to your account on a browser. Hover your mouse on the profile icon at the top-left corner and click Account.

What happens when you sign out of your netflix account from all devices 01

Step 2: In the Settings section of the Account menu, select 'Recent device streaming activity.'

What happens when you sign out of your netflix account from all devices 04

On the resulting page, you'll find a list of devices that have recently accessed your account as well as their respective locations and timezone. Netflix also shows you the last time (data, timezone and minutes) the devices accessed your account.

What happens when you sign out of your netflix account from all devices 07

If you find unrecognized devices from strange locations on the list, your account is probably compromised. You should sign out all devices immediately. But before you do, here are some things you should know.

Does Netflix Inform People That You've Signed Them Out

No, Netflix doesn't snitch. The affected individuals will eventually find out that they no longer have access to your account, but Netflix doesn't send a notification or inform them before signing them out.

Can You Remove a Single Device From Netflix Account

At the moment, you can't. It's an all-or-nothing action. The 'Sign out of all devices' function does exactly what the names says. Netflix will sign out all devices associated with your account except the device you used to sign out other devices.

Can Devices That You Remove Still Access Your Netflix Account

What happens when you sign out of your netflix account from all devices image

Yes, people you sign out of your account can still watch content. They can simply sign back into your account if they know your password or have it saved on their device. To prevent this, you should change your account password. Otherwise, you might be back to square one in no time when these devices sign back into your account.

Additionally, you should know that the removal of devices from your Netflix account isn't always instant. And this is due to Netflix's device removal window.

When you remove devices from your account, it sometimes takes Netflix up to 8 hours to effect the change. So, if you've disconnected all devices from your account but still can't watch your favorite Netflix TV show, you may have to wait for 8 hours or less.

How to Sign Out of Your Netflix Account From All Devices

What happens when you sign out of your netflix account from all devices image 02

Now that you've known the basics about remotely disconnecting your Netflix account from all devices, here's how to get it done.

Step 1: Visit the Netflix website on a browser and enter your credentials to sign in to your account.

Step 2: Click on the profile icon (or click on it) and select Account from the options.

What happens when you sign out of your netflix account from all devices 01

Step 3: Next, scroll to the Setting section and click 'Sign out of all devices.'

What happens when you sign out of your netflix account from all devices 02

Step 4: Click the Sign Out button to proceed.

What happens when you sign out of your netflix account from all devices 03

What to Do After Signing Everyone Out of Your Account

Change Your Account Password

You can change your Netflix account password either from the Account settings menu or by sending yourself a password recovery email/SMS. Follow the steps below to update your Netflix account's password from the Account settings menu.

Step 1: Sign in to your Netflix account on a browser, tap the profile icon and select Account.

What happens when you sign out of your netflix account from all devices 01

Step 2: In the 'Membership & Billing section,' click Change password.

What happens when you sign out of your netflix account from all devices 05

Step 3: You'll be required to provide your current account password and enter the new password (twice). Click Save to effect the change.

What happens when you sign out of your netflix account from all devices 06

You should set your new strong and secure password. You can also check the box that reads 'Require all devices to sign in again with new password' before clicking Save. That's another interesting method to remotely sign out your Netflix account from other devices.

Don't Share Your Account Credentials

You shouldn't be handing your Netflix account details like candies. To prevent (or limit, at best) unauthorized access to your account, only share your password with people you know and trust. Better yet, type your account credentials into their devices yourself. This is better than telling or texting them your password — they can easily forward it to other people.

Safeguard Your Netflix Account

Asides from being able to watch content without any limitation, signing out of your Netflix account from all devices also comes with security benefits. Handing too many people access to your account exposes your personal information like phone number and credit card details. Let us know if you have more questions about signing devices out of your Netflix account.

Next up: Want to watch TV series and movies from the American Netflix catalogue? Read the article linked below to learn out how to access US Netflix with a VPN service.


The above article may contain affiliate links which help support Guiding Tech. However, it does not affect our editorial integrity. The content remains unbiased and authentic.

Read Next

Join the newsletter

Sodiq has written thousands of tutorials, guides, and explainers over the past 3 years to help people solve problems relating to Android, iOS, and Windows devices. He also enjoys reviewing consumer tech products (smartphones, smart home devices, etc.) and previously worked with GearBest in that capacity.