How to Turn Off the Last Active Status on Tumblr

Tumblr is an awesome and highly customizable platform to blog on, but what makes it even better are the various social features integrated seamlessly into each and every one of your blogs. Which means that rather than being an anonymous blog admin, you can easily interact with other Tumblr users just like you would on social media platforms such as Facebook.

But understandably, that also brings a fair share of privacy-related concerns, and that green activity indicator that you see over someone’s avatar shows up over yours as well. Not to mention the notification that displays the last time you were active while messaging with others.

Tumblr Turn Off Last Active Status Featured Alt

Fortunately, Tumblr isn’t adamant about forcing its users to broadcast their status online. Hence, you can easily turn the thing off if you want to.

Disabling Your Activity Status

Disabling your activity status takes next to no time, and can be done on all supported Tumblr platforms — desktop, Android, and iOS. Also, you don’t need to repeat the action on all your devices since your settings are synced across everywhere in real-time.

There’s just one catch, however. You can’t just select any individual blog and turn off it’s activity status — turning the thing off disables it for all blogs, so do keep that in mind before you go ahead.

Web

Step 1: Sign in to your Tumblr account. Once you're on the dashboard, click the Account icon, and then select Settings on the drop-down menu.

Tumblr Turn Off Last Active Status 1

Step 2: On the Settings screen, click Privacy.

Tumblr Turn Off Last Active Status 2

Step 3: Turn off the switch next to Let Others See That You’re Active. You should see a green-colored Saved notification flash across briefly to indicate that your changes were saved.

Tumblr Turn Off Last Active Status 3

You can now exit the Settings screen, and your activity status should no longer show up for other users.

Note: If Tumblr fails to save the change, simply reload the page and retry — it should then save just fine.

Android

Step 1: Load up your Tumblr app, and then tap the Account icon. On the subsequent screen, tap the gear-shaped Settings icon.

Tumblr Turn Off Last Active Status Additional
Tumblr Turn Off Last Active Status Additional 2

Step 2: Tap General Settings, and then tap Privacy.

Tumblr Turn Off Last Active Status 5
Tumblr Turn Off Last Active Status 6

Step 3: Turn off the switch next to Let Others See That You’re Active.

Tumblr Turn Off Last Active Status 7

Done!

Note: See that Let Others Find You by Email option? If you prefer to not let someone find you via your email address, then consider turning it off for even more privacy.

iOS

Step 1: Open the Tumblr app, and then tap the Account icon. Next, select any one of your blogs — doesn’t matter which.

Tumblr Turn Off Last Active Status 8

Step 2: Tap the gear-shaped Settings icon. On the cascading menu, tap General Settings.

Tumblr Turn Off Last Active Status 9

Step 3: Tap the option labeled Privacy.

Tumblr Turn Off Last Active Status 10

Step 4: Tap the switch next to Let Others See That You’re Active.

Tumblr Turn Off Last Active Status 11

All done!

Note: If you disabled your activity status via desktop and don’t see the change reflected on your Android or iOS mobile device, then you need to force-quit and relaunch the Tumblr app for it to take effect.

So, Would You Miss Out on Anything?

Turning off your activity status is great for privacy. And the best thing about it is that Tumblr doesn’t penalize you by turning off the activity statuses of other users. So unlike on Instagram, you can snoop around without giving away your own position if you want to!

But if you’re really looking to grow your blog, then other Tumblr users are going to take notice of your activity status — after all, that pesky green dot shows up on your blog’s header, on replies, and on chat windows. And that may actually result in more visitor engagement if you’re up to dealing with all kinds of weird messages!

After all, an active blogger is far more exciting, right? But hey, it's your call.

Credit: Tumblr Staff

So if you have a change of mind, just head over to Tumblr’s Privacy panel via desktop, Android, or iOS, and simply turn on the Let Others See That You’re Active option.

But if you’re really into preserving your privacy, or don't plan on blogging too much, then you likely won’t miss out by turning off your activity status — in fact, you’d hardly notice anything at all.

Now, what about that Safe Mode restriction that shows up for certain blogs? Want to know how to bypass that even without signing into your account? Read all about that next in the link below. 

Read Next
How to Disable Tumblr Safe Mode or Bypass it Without an Account
Also See
#privacy#tumblr

Join the newsletter

Dilum Senevirathne has written about tech and finance for over five years. When he isn’t messing around with the latest iOS apps, you can catch him tweaking a collection of IoT gadgets. Dilum is a management accounting student and a prospective charterholder.