TikTok’s craze refuses to slow down, and the COVID-19 pandemic is only adding fuel to the fire. While there is nothing wrong with posting or downloading videos on TikTok, you don’t want the occasional flak that comes with it. You also don’t need stalkers. That’s why you need to understand and use TikTok security and privacy settings.
TikTok has raised several red flags over the past few months, and now scammers are targeting the platform with adult dating and whatnot. Fortunately, there are a few ways to prevent harm.
1. Hacks and Security Alerts
Open the app, and under the Me tab, tap on the three-dot menu to access Settings. Tap on Manage my account.
You will see some basic profile information here like email ID, mobile number, password, and most importantly, Security. Select that.
You will see alerts from TikTok if they feel something is off or out of place. For example, if someone is trying to access your account without your permission or all the devices that are currently logged in to your TikTok account. WhatsApp offers a similar function too.
You can contact support or log out of all devices that you don’t recognize here. I would also recommend a password change at this point to make sure this doesn’t happen again.
2. TikTok Security and Privacy Settings
Go back to the previous screen and select Privacy and safety this time. There are many options, so let’s tackle them individually.
The first option is the Private account. Enabling that will force everyone to send you a follow request, much like on Instagram, before they can view videos uploaded or liked by you. TikTok clarifies right there that users already following you won’t notice any difference.
The second option is the Suggest your account to others. That is useful if you want to gain followers on TikTok. Who doesn’t? Enabling this option will allow TikTok to use its recommendation engine to show your account videos to those who are showing an interest in similar content.
The Safety heading is where you will find settings that are meant to protect your data. They are mostly easy to understand, like if anyone can download your videos, who can send you direct messages or DMs, who can view videos you like or comments posted by others on your videos, and even comment on your videos.
The Comment filters option is where you can block comments that are offensive in nature, but you can also create a list of keywords. These can be abusive or sensitive keywords that you don’t want to see in your comments section. All comments with these keywords will be automatically blocked. People can act selfish and downright nasty or abusive on social media and we can all do with some positivity.
You can also control if someone can duet with you. That is how a duet looks like, in case you are new to the platform or don’t know the meaning.
The last option is Blocked accounts, where you will see a list of all users whom you have blocked. But how do you block someone?
3. How to Block TikTok Users
When you stumble upon a video by a user you want to block, tap on the username to open his/her account. Don’t tap the ‘+’ icon if you see one. That will only follow him/her. Now tap the three-dot menu icon at the top-right corner.
A pop-up menu should reveal itself at the bottom of the screen. You can not only block the user but can also report his account if you think he/she is sharing questionable content.
You will no longer see any videos from that account. And just like Instagram or Twitter, they won’t be able to view your content or account activities either.
4. How to Download TikTok Data
Just like other social media platforms like Facebook and Instagram, TikTok also allows you to download your data. The option is available under Personalization and data under Privacy and safety.
Tap on Download TikTok Data, and under the ‘Request a Data File’ tab, tap on the Request Data button to initiate the process. You will receive a confirmation email, followed by the actual file which is usually sent within four days. The file will also be available under the Download Data tab. This file can be really large, depending on how many videos have you uploaded, but that’s not the only thing it will contain. Your contact details and user activity, which includes comments and likes, are also included.
You can also follow the status of all requests in the Download Data tab. I just initiated a request.
Tic Tac Toe
TikTok is very addictive, and it can help pass time for hours. Especially if you are an active user who loves uploading videos to the platform. It takes planning and execution to do it well. Just make sure that you have set up your account security and privacy right. You might regret it later. People on social media can be trolls.
Next up: Saw a video with a catchy song on TikTok? Here is how to find any song used in a TikTok video.
Last updated on 03 February, 2022
The above article may contain affiliate links which help support Guiding Tech. However, it does not affect our editorial integrity. The content remains unbiased and authentic.