What Is Shared Story on Snapchat and How to Use It

Besides the option to exchange snaps, Snapchat added multiple features throughout the years to make the platform more engaging. One such recently added feature is Shared Story. This guide will help you know everything about Shared Story on Snapchat and how to use it.

shared story on Snapchat

Shared Stories are group chats exclusively for Snapchat stories and are an extension of the custom stories feature. Users and their selected friends (or any contacts) can add Snaps to a Shared Story. With this, users can stay updated about their friends circle with a Snap. Let’s look at how to create a Shared Story on Snapchat and more.

How to Create a Shared Story on Snapchat

Using the Shared Stories feature is straightforward, and anyone with a Snapchat account can create them. Here’s how:

Step 1: Open Snapchat on your smartphone and tap your Avatar at the top left corner.

Step 2: Scroll down to My Stories and choose ‘New Shared Story.’

Step 3: Tap Continue to agree > choose the members you want to create a Shared Story with > tap Create Story.

Note: If you’re accessing the feature for the first time, tap on Continue to agree to Snapchat’s Community Guidelines.

Step 4: Name the Shared Story and tap Save.

add a new name and tap save

That’s it! You have created a Shared Story. Now, you and your friends can add their snaps to the Shared Story you created, and they can add contributors as well.

Note: You are automatically added to a Shared Story on Snapchat when your friends add you. However, if you join a Shared Story with someone you’ve blocked on Snapchat, you’ll be notified whether you wish to continue.

How to Post Stories to Snapchat Shared Stories

Now that you know what Shared Story on Snapchat is and how to create one for yourself, here’s how to add Snaps to these Shared Stories. It is the same as posting a story on Snapchat. Here are the steps:

Note: The steps are the same whether you want to add to your created Shared Story or contribute to your friend’s Shared Story.

Step 1: Open Snapchat and choose or take a picture for the story.

Step 2: Tap and hold the Stories button > choose [Shared Story name] and tap Send.

Alternative Ways of Contributing to Shared Stories:

  • You can also tap Send to/Next and choose the Shared Stories from the next page.
  • You can add a story by opening your profile > and tapping your shared story. Now, add or upload your media.

View and Share a Snapchat Shared Story

Users who have created the Shared Stories can view them from Avatar > Shared Story. Others can view the story from their Stories page. Here’s how to share a private story on Snapchat Shared Stories:

Step 1: Go to Snapchat and open the story. Now, tap the share button.

Note: If you have added the story, tap and hold the Views button and choose Share.

Step 2: Choose the user and tap the arrow (send) button.

choose the user and hit send

View, Add, Edit, and Delete Members From a Shared Story

Besides adding, you can also view, edit, or remove the users from your shared story on Snapchat. Here’s how:

Step 1: Open Snapchat > tap your Avatar.

Step 2: Scroll down to the Shared Stories section.

Step 3: Tap three dots next to the story of your choice.

Step 4: Next, choose any of the options to make changes:

  • Delete Story: Select it and tap Delete to confirm.
  • Rename Story: Make changes to the name and tap Save.
  • Edit members: Choose or remove the members and tap Save.
  • View Profile: View all the members in a Shared Story.
  • Auto-Save to Memories: Toggle on this option to save all the stories as memories.
  • Add to Story: Choose or upload a story.

Step 5: Once you make the necessary changes, tap Done.

make necessary changes and tap done

FAQs on Shared Story on Snapchat

1. Can an unknown add me to Shared Story?

No. Shared Stories is a feature limited to your friend’s group. Hence, you won’t be added to any random Shared Stories by an unknown person.

2. How long does a Shared Story last?

Each shared story lasts as long as the other stories, which is only 24 hours.

3. What happens if you delete an already shared Snapchat Story?

The Snapchat story will be permanently removed when you hit the delete button. No one can view the story anymore. Even if someone attempts to repost the deleted content, they can’t access or view it.

Keep Your Close Friends Together

Snapchat’s Shared Stories are an excellent way to collaborate, share experiences, and keep close contacts. We hope that this guide helped you. You may also want to learn how Snapchat orders the Best Friends list.

Last updated on 09 August, 2023

The above article may contain affiliate links which help support Guiding Tech. However, it does not affect our editorial integrity. The content remains unbiased and authentic.