Nothing is certain in this world except death and taxes. But nobody knows the day or hour of their death. Oftentimes, such events take people by surprise. In this guide, we’ll show how you can close the Facebook account of someone who died. We’ll also explore what you can do to get your own digital affairs in order.
Request the Removal of a Facebook Account After User’s Death
To remove someone’s Facebook account after their death, you need to provide Meta with documents that confirm you’re an immediate family member. You also need to provide a scan or photo of their death certificate. Equally important, ensure all the necessary details are visible. The information on the document must match the details of the Facebook account you want to close. Obituary and memorial cards are also accepted.
Executors can request Meta to delete the account of a dead person. You can submit proof of authority and proof that the account owner has passed away for lack of a death certificate.
Meta accepts the following proof of authority documents:
- Birth Certificate
- Last will and testament
- Estate letter
- Power of attorney
Set Your Facebook Account to Delete Itself After Your Death
Facebook users can choose to get their affairs in order before leaving this world. For example, you can instruct Meta to permanently delete your Facebook account after you pass away.
This means that all the information associated with your account will be permanently deleted from Facebook. This includes photos, messages, comments, reactions, etc.
How to Request That Your Facebook Account Be Deleted After Your Death
Step 1. Go to Facebook and click on Account.
Step 2. Then, navigate to Settings & Privacy.
Step 3. Go to Settings.
Step 4. Click on Memorialization Settings.
Step 5. Scroll down to ‘Request that your account be deleted after you pass away.’
Step 6. Select ‘Delete After Death.’
Another Option: Memorialize the Account
Alternatively, if you don’t want your Facebook account permanently deleted after your death, you can appoint a legacy contact. They’ll look after your memorialized account after you pass away. The word Remembering will appear next to your profile.
Your family and friends can visit your memorialized account and share memories on the timeline. Memorialized profiles are not visible in public spaces. The login option is automatically disabled. However, the late account owner’s content on Facebook remains visible to the audience it was shared with.
To close a person’s Facebook account after their death, contact Meta and provide them with the death certificate. Additionally, send them some documents that prove you’re an immediate family member. If you don’t want to burden others with managing your Facebook account after your death, you can prepare your digital accounts before you die.
Have you got your digital affairs in order? Let us know in the comments below.
Last updated on 22 June, 2023
The above article may contain affiliate links which help support Guiding Tech. However, it does not affect our editorial integrity. The content remains unbiased and authentic.