How to Delete Insta­gram Account

Parth Shah

Instagram gathers all the likes, comments, and reactions as a virtual currency. Sometimes, it can be overwhelming for some, and they'd want to take a permanent break from Instagram. So deleting an account is the ultimate step, but before you jump the gun, you need to do a few things.

Delete instagram account

To trim down your Instagram addiction, you can always use the Screen Time function on Android and iPhone. But it’s more of a temporary lock on your Instagram usage. Besides, it’s very easy to bypass the time limit and get extra time for Instagram feed browsing.

You can also disable your Instagram account temporarily, but that won’t serve the purpose either. Instead, it keeps the door open for you to go back to the same Instagram addiction in the future.

By logging in again, you can easily reactive your Instagram account. The permanent solution is to delete the Instagram account once and for all. Here’s how to delete your Instagram account on the web.

Things to Note Before Deleting Instagram Account

Before you go ahead and delete your Instagram account, let us warn you about the possible outcomes.

When you delete your Instagram account, it removes your profile, photos, videos, comments, likes and followers permanently. Even if you create a new Instagram account with the same username in the future, you won’t have the previous followers count, photos, likes, etc.

Instagram likes and comments

If you just want a temporary break from Instagram, you can always disable your account instead. That way, you won’t lose your data and other details in the app.

After Instagram deletes your account, you can try to sign up again with the same username, as long as it's not taken by another user.

Finally, you can’t delete your account using Instagram mobile apps. You will have to use the Instagram web or mobile browser to delete your account.

Download Your Instagram Data

As we mentioned above, when you delete your Instagram account, it removes all the data including, photos and posts. You can use Instagram’s Data Download tool and save that information before proceeding with Instagram delete option.

Follow the steps below to download your Instagram data from the web.

Step 1: Visit Instagram on the web and sign in using your account credentials.

Step 2: From the Instagram home, click on the profile menu in the upper right corner.

Select Instagram profile

Step 3: Select Settings.

Go to instagram settings

Step 4: Go to Privacy and Security from the left sidebar.

Open privacy and security

Step 5: Scroll down and find the Data Download option.

Step 6: Select Request Download.

Request instagram account

Step 7: Instagram will confirm your email ID on which you want to get the information. Select Information format as HTML or JSON.

Select instagram data format

Step 8: Enter your Instagram password from the following menu and select Request Download.

Enter password to get instagram data

Wait for some time, and Instagram will email you a relevant file with all the account details.

Now that you have all your posts and pictures from Instagram, you can permanently delete the account.

Delete Instagram Account

For security reasons, you can’t ask Instagram to delete an account for you. Instead, you will need to log into your account to request deletion.

Step 1: Open Instagram on the web and sign in to your account with a username and password.

Unfortunately, there is no way to delete an Instagram account from the Settings page or Profile menu. Instagram has created more confusion by creating a dedicated page to delete Instagram account.

Step 2: Go to the Delete Your Account page on your computer. Since you have already signed into Instagram with the browser, you will see your account name mentioned at the top.

Instagram delete your account

Step 3: Instagram will ask you why you want to delete the account question. Select a relevant answer.

Select instagram delete reason

Step 4: Re-enter your Instagram password and use the Delete button below to completely remove your identity from your Instagram account.

Delete instagram

You can follow the same steps on a mobile browser to delete an Instagram account on your phone.

Instagram will delete your profile and account after 30 days. You won’t be visible on Instagram between now and then. If you change your mind in a month, you can log back in before the deletion date and choose to keep your account.

Remove Your Instagram Presence

To use a specific username, some business users acquire another Instagram account and delete that account to use the same username with their brand. Did you delete your Instagram account? Why did you take action? Share your reasons in the comments below.


The above article may contain affiliate links which help support Guiding Tech. However, it does not affect our editorial integrity. The content remains unbiased and authentic.

Read Next

Join the newsletter

Parth Shah

Written By

Parth Shah

Parth previously worked at EOTO.tech covering tech news. He is currently freelancing at Guiding Tech writing about apps comparison, tutorials, software tips and tricks and diving deep into iOS, Android, macOS, and Windows platforms.