How to Disable or Delete and Re-Enable Your Twitter Account

Ashish Mundhra

Twitter is a great social network to connect with interesting people and organizations. You can say that Facebook and Google+ are more or less similar services but Twitter on the other hand is very different from these two. Twitter can help you have a conversation with your favorite movie star or business tycoon almost immediately (if they are on Twitter). It’s a democratic environment that fosters interactions of all kinds, but then it’s certainly not for everyone and hence isn’t as popular as Facebook.

There are people who created a Twitter account just to try it out, and don’t find time or inclination to update it that often. If you are one of such users and would like to delete your online presence from Twitter, here’s how you can deactivate your account.

Deactivating Twitter Account

Step 1: Log in to your Twitter account using a web browser and select Settings  from the user drop-down menu on the top-right corner.

twitter settings

Step 2: After you click on Settings, your Twitter account settings page will open up from where you can control all the aspects of your account. Scroll down the bottom of the page and click on the link Deactivate my account.

deactivate my account

Step 3: Twitter will make sure for one last time before it deactivates your account. Click on the button Deactivate@ and provide your account password to finish the process.

deactivate

After you deactivate the account, you will be automatically logged out.

Re-Enable Twitter Account

After you deactivate a Twitter account Twitter gives you a grace period of 30 days during which you can give your decision a second thought. If you do not log in to your Twitter account within the next 30 days of deactivate your account then Twitter deletes it permanently.

However, if you log in again to Twitter in the meanwhile, Twitter will reactivate your account instantly. Your account will be activated in no time at all but Twitter may take some time to gather all your account data like followers, favorite tweets, etc.

Conclusion

So that was how you can deactivate your Twitter account. Do note that you have at the max 30 days before which you can reactivate your Twitter account so some thought should be given before hitting that deactivate button.

Also See
#twitter#How-to/Guides

Join the newsletter

Ashish Mundhra

Written By

Ashish Mundhra

Ashish is a staff writer and video editor at Guiding Tech. He loves all things tech and has a soft corner for Android. Apart from contributing articles here, he also takes care of our YouTube Channel.