WhatsApp Rolls Back Old ‘Text’ Status Update Alongside 3 Other Changes

A few days after copying Snapchat’s story feature to replace its text ‘status’, WhatsApp looks inclined to roll back the old way of updating status after a major public outcry as most of the users aren’t particularly overwhelmed by the new interactive status update.

dennizn / Shutterstock.com

As per the latest public update, WhatsApp allowed users to post an image, GIF or a video clip as their status update on the app which would vanish in 24 hours.

The latest beta update of the app which bumps it up to version 2.17.95 confirms that the billion-strong messaging service is testing out bringing back the old feature.

But there is a catch here. The updated ‘Status’ which can be used to share videos, images and GIFs is still active under its respective tab and the old text-based status update has been pushed under the ‘About’ of a user.

In order to change your status, now you’ll have to go to settings from the three-dot menu at the home screen of the app, tap on your profile picture and you’ll find your old ‘text status’ under ‘About and phone number’.

This status can be changed by tapping on it. The text status will be visible to your contacts under ‘About and phone number’ when they view your profile.

Other Changes in the Update

The interface of the chat window has changed a bit.

  • The attachment button used to send images/documents/songs/location has been moved to the chatbox at the bottom.
  • The camera button has also been moved inside the chat box, which now has curved edges.
  • The video and audio call button are prominently shown on the top bar of the chat.
These features are currently only available to the Android beta testers of the app and might be rolled out to the masses in the near future.

The company recently completed eight years of successful service to the masses and has garnered north of a billion active users on its app. Taking the text status update off the app led to a major public outcry against the new feature and it seems the company are ready to give the users back what they want.

Show Comments Hide Comments