How To Disable ( And Enable ) User Accounts In Windows

Ads by Google

If your computer has various user accounts and you no longer need them then you can either delete or disable them. Advantage of disabling user accounts is all of its settings, files and  folders remain intact and you can access it anytime by re-enabling the account.

This article shows you how to disable and enable user accounts in Windows 7. The process is same for Windows Vista users.

Note: This feature might be unavailable in some versions of Windows 7 and Vista.

1. Go to start menu. Right click on “Computer” and select “Manage”.

manage computer

2. On Computer management window expand “Local users and Groups” by clicking on white arrow.

computer management

Ads by Google

3. You’ll get all the list of users. If there’s a down arrow (black color) in the small computer icon next to a user name then it means that user account is already disabled (like you can see in the following screenshot).

Double click on account which you want to disable.

user accounts

4. I clicked on Children account because I made it for test purpose. I no longer need it, so am disabling it. To disable the account check the box next to “Account is disabled” and click OK.

user properties

That’s it. Your user account is disabled. You can notice the black arrow in the icon next to it. Also, if you look for the User Accounts in the control panel settings,  you won’t find the account you disabled.

How To enable the disabled account

Re-enabling the account is simple. Repeat steps 1 to 3. In user account properties window, uncheck the box next to “Account is disabled”. Your account will be enabled.

Also check out How to disable User Account Control in Windows.

Before You Go...

Just wanted to let you know that we've just launched our YouTube Channel where we'll upload awesome video content. Make sure you hit the subscribe button to stay up to date with the new videos we upload every week.

Get Guiding Tech articles delivered to your inbox.

Also get a free ebook when you subscribe.

We will never share your address. Unsubscribe at any time.